I’m in Perth. It’s nice.

Hello Everyone,

This is my first blog posting.  I’ll use this blog to keep all of you updated on my trip to Australia (and other countries) and  my experiences with Youth With A Mission (YWAM).  I’ll be posting some pictures and be doing some writing.  Hopefully I can update this blog fairly regularly, but it may sometimes take a while for me to write anything because the school schedule is quite busy.

I arrived in Perth last Friday.  Here is a bit of a description of my trip so far.

The Trip
Traveling from Saskatoon to Vancouver to Hong Kong to Perth took about 36 hours.  It was a long time.  I watched a lot of movies.  I slept a lot.

The First Day
I arrived in Perth at about 7am.  I was super tired at first.  I was meeting lots of people and trying to be active in conversations, but I was definitely tired.  After lunch a few of us caught a train to one of the cities beaches.  The sand, the water and the overall beach experience here is really nice.  Did some body surfing on the waves; it was fun.  It definitely helped wake me up.  The rest of the day went pretty well and I stayed awake till 10:30 at night.

The Accent
The Australian accent is pretty cool.  For the most part I know what everyone is saying.  Sometimes, with people with thicker accents, I don’t quite know what is being said.  I think I’m already starting to pick up a small amount of aussie accent, not much, only a very small amount.  I’ve noticed when I say, “yeah” that I’ve been saying it in a more relaxed, chill, layed-back, aussie sounding way.  The city of Perth is such a relaxed city that it’s easy for the feeling to absorb into a person’s language.

The People
I’ve been meeting a lot of people at the YWAM base.  The people are really nice.  There are a number of people I connect with well.

The Weather
The weather is amazing here.  It’s the perfect weather for me.  It’s sunny and about 30 to 35 degrees everyday.  I love it.

The Leaders
The leaders of my school are great.  They have a lot of openness and honesty.  They’re not afraid to take some risks or push or challenge others.  And overall, they seem very genuine; they genuinely care and want to be here.  They have genuine faith in Christ.

The School
I think the YWAM school I’m in is going to be great.  The lectures are just starting.  I’m excited for all that will happen with the school.
That’s all for now.  I’ll write you guys some more later.  Thanks for reading.

5 responses to “I’m in Perth. It’s nice.

  1. I’m sure you’ll have HEAPS of fun!

  2. Thanks for posting Curtis! You might want to consider teaching English in some part of the world one day as well = phenomenal grammar and word usage, I am impressed.
    Blessings,
    Heids

  3. Hey Curt,
    Thanks for keeping those of us back home in the loop! You also win an award for most organized blog post ever.

Leave a Reply

